Return to Website

Ceolta Mhúscraí / Songs of Muskerry


This is a very special collection of archive recordings of artists from the Muskerry area of West Cork, an area renowned for its strong tradition of music and song. The artists featured on this album are great standard bearers for this unique local tradition.

The album features newly-released recordings from singers: Diarmuid Ó Súilleabháin (1947-1991), Seán Ó Liatháin and Máire Ní Cheocháin. Vinyl recordings of the late Seán Ó Síocháin from Kilnamartra are presented here on CD for the first time in a remastered format.

To round off this collection of Muskerry-themed recordings, a live recording of Seán Ó Riada playing ‘Aisling Gheal’ is included. Never before released, this piece was recorded at a concert ‘Music from Munster’ which Ó Riada presented in UCD’s Aula Maxima in March 1971, the year in which he died.

The singer Seán Ó Síocháin was a regular contributor on radio programmes in the 1950s and his repertoire consisted entirely of regional songs. This is his only recording.

This collection will be warmly greeted by connoisseurs of the Irish music tradition. The recordings of Ó Síocháin and Ní Cheocháin date from 1960, while those of Ó Súilleabháin and Ó Liatháin date from 1972; all of which recordings are presented here for the first time.

1 Cuisle mo Chroí
2 Réidhchnoc Mná Duibhe
3 An Chúil Duibh Ré
4 Casam ar aon na Géanna Romhainn
5 Na Cleaganna
6 Turas go Tír na nÓg
7 Níl sé ’na lá
8 Eibhlín a Rúin
9 Seán is a Bhríste Leathair
10 Taidhgín Ó Cuill
11 An Síoda atá id’Bhallait
12 Réice Luimnigh
13 An Spealadóir
14 An Banbh
15 ’Sí mo Bhean an Rógaire
16 An Pónaí Beag Buí
17 Fiach an Mhada Rua
18 Bhíos-sa Lá i gCill Áirne
19 Aisling Gheal


Customers who bought this item also bought