Return to Website

Michael Coleman 1891-1945


‘Coleman’s records are now regarded as classics and are among the finest examples of recorded folk music in the early 20thcentury.’
The Companion to Irish Traditional Music


The double CD comes with a revised edition of the Harry Bradshaw biography of Coleman which features photos and interviews with people who knew Coleman.

Michael Coleman (1891-1945) emigrated to the USA where he enjoyed a very successful recording career. His records have influenced generations of players.

So famous is Coleman that the area of south Sligo where he came from is known in music circles as ‘Coleman Country’.

This collection of vintage recordings has been unavailable for a time and the revised edition in its new format will be much appreciated by devotees of authentic fiddle music. Coleman was a master musician and the exemplar of the Sligo style of fiddle playing. This collection comprises 48 tracks which were recorded in the States mainly in the 1920s, when Coleman was in his prime.

Side 1
1 Lord McDonald
2 Cherish The Ladies
3 The Boys Of The Lough
4 The Liverpool/O'Neill's
5 The Shaskeen
6 Jackson's
7 Farrell O'Gara
8 James Gannon's
9 The Crooked Road To Dublin
10 Lord Gordon
11 The Frost Is All Over
12 Reidy Johnson's
13 The Job Of Journeywork
14 Rakish Paddy
15 Tobin's Fancy
16 Crowley's
17 Casey's
18 The Kerryman's Daughter/The Bird In The Tree
19 Up Sligo
20 Lucy Campbell
21 McDermott's
22 Doctor Gilbert/The Queen Of May
23 The Humours Of Ennistymon
24 The Green Fields Of America/The Swallow's Tail

Side 2
1 The Grey Goose
2 The Morning Dew/The Woman Of The House
3 Murray's Fancy
4 The Foxhunter
5 The Duke Of Leinster/And His Wife
6 Larry O'Gaff
7 The Real Blackthorn Stick
8 Murphy's
9 Jackson's Morning Brush/The Rambling Pitchfork
10 Tarbolton/The Longford Collector/The Sailor's Bonnet
11 The Sailor On The Rock
12 The Monaghan Jig
13 The Pigeon On The Gate
14 Apples In Winter
15 Bonnie Kate/Jennie's Chickens
16 The Frieze Britches
17 The Stage/The Western
18 Paddy Ryan's Dream
19 Tell Her I Am
20 The Kerry Reel/The Boyne Hunt
21 Tommy Hill's Favourite
22 Killarney Wonder
23 Farewell To Ireland
24 Mrs. Kenny's


Customers who bought this item also bought

Music from Galway

Ceol Tigh Neachtain

Tuile agus Trá – The Flowing Tide

Micheál Ó hAlmhain

Muintir Chatháin / The Keane Family

The Keane Family